Forest Improvement and Productivity Division


This programme seeks to   increasing forest cover, improve productivity of forest plantations and promote integration of trees on farms and degraded landscapes, while building resilience to climate change.

The Forest Improvement and Productivity Division has 7 senior members, 9 junior members and 12 junior staff. The Division is headed by Dr. John K. Mensah.

Priority areas will include:

  1. Rehabilitation and restoration of degraded landscapes
  2. Forest plantations and silviculture
  3. Agroforestry
  4. Germplasm supply and distribution system
  5. Genetics, tree breeding, biotechnology, domestication and conservation
  6. Forest health surveillance (pests and diseases)
  7. Climate change and forest productivity
  8. Sustainable wood fuel production
  9. Rural livelihoods and food security

Senior Members

Name Position Field of Expertise
Joseph Mireku Asomaning (Phd) Senior Research Scientist Seed technology
Mark Appiah (PhD) Principal Research Scientist Tropical Silviculture Research 
John K. Mensah (PhD) Research Scientist Plant pathology
Bandoh William K. Nuako Research Scientist  
Anthony Antwi-Wiredu Principal Technologist  
James Oppong Amponsah Principal Technologist  
Patience Mansa Gakpetor Principal Technologist  
Emmanuel Opuni Frimpong (PhD) Principal Research Scientist  Entomology


Name Rank
Ernest Osei Boakye (M/Nadieso/S/For/Hd) Chief Technical Officer
Frank Baffour Assuming Chief Technical Officer
Sarfo Kwame Bonsu Chief Technical Officer
Sandra Owusu Chief Technical Officer
Ebenezer Ofori Principal Technical Officer
John Bismark Amokwandoh Principal Technical Officer
Simon Asumadu Technical Officer
Francis Owusu Nuamah Technical Officer
Emmanuel Duodu Nyarko Technical Officer


Name Rank
Mary Nyarkoah Overseer
Wahab Yakubu Asst. Overseer Gd.1
Pius Yaw Addo Supervisor Gd. 1
Margaret Adablah Azumi Supervisor Grade 1
Charles Adu Supervisor Gd. 1
Ali Inousa Supervisor Gd. 1
Emmanuel Koduah Supervisor Gd. 1
Anthony Osei Kwaku Supervisor Gd. II
Salifu Iddi Serekye Supervisor Gd. 11
Salifu Abdul Supervisor Gd.11
Bernard Yeboah Supervisor Gd. 11
Kwabena Bosompem Supervisor Gd.11


  • Pathology
  • Biotechnology
  • National Tree Seed Centre

Field Stations

  • Jimira/Asenanyo/Bia Tano
  • South Formangso / Nadieaso/Mpraeso

About us

Forestry Research Institute of Ghana is one of the 13 institutes of the Council for Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR). It is located at Fumesua near Kumasi in the Ashanti Region of Ghana. It started as a research unit within the Forestry Department in 1962. It was fully established as a research institute and named FOREST PRODUCTS RESEARCH INSTITUTE (FPRI) under the then Ghana Academy of Sciences in 1964 and in 1968 placed under the Council for Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR).

Contact us

The Director
Forestry Research Institute of Ghana, P. O. Box UP 63 KNUST
Kumasi, Ghana

Tel :+233-(0)3220-60123/60373
Fax :+233-(0)3220-60121
Email : [email protected]